Otto Preminger’s Laura (1944): Summer of Noir GIFs, Day 8

laura

In a 1985 interview, Gene Tierney shared her memories of Laura:

“I’m glad you think I was pretty enough to play the part! Well, I think the portrait was a very good portrait. But now I can tell you: the portrait was a photograph that was enlarged and then they put paint on it to make it look like a painting, because they had tried several artists, and they didn’t get the feeling they wanted.

“So Preminger and the photographer took me to the still gallery and posed me in that dress. And they got that shot, it just happened to be a very good shot. I think the portrait picture really contributed a lot to my recognition for the film….

Tierney also recalled how the role came to her and how she didn’t feel up to it:

“One day they [executives at 20th Century Fox] came to me and they said, ‘Jennifer Jones doesn’t want to play this, and it’s a great opportunity.’ And I read it and said, ‘Hedy Lamarr ought to play it, because there’s no acting to it. It’s just meant to be a beautiful woman and I’m not as pretty as this girl is touted to be in the film.’

“And they said, ‘Well, we think you’re right for it.’ And I said, ‘Well, I don’t, but if you want me to do it, I’m under contract. I’ll do it.'”

One thought on “Otto Preminger’s Laura (1944): Summer of Noir GIFs, Day 8

Leave a Reply

